Thursday, 14 March 2013

Coll Regan                                                Gaming Pet Peeves
                                      http://www.gamesradar.com/gamings-greatest-pet-peeves/    

The world of gaming can be a hostile and unforgiving place, and it is not for the faint of heart. Many of the peeves that stem from gaming have to do with the online portions of games. The original peeve for me Is when we used to play the original Goldeneye and people would screen hack, for those who don't know that is when another player watches your screen to find out where you are.  This was awful as they would instantly know where to go to kill you.
     As online gaming because a huge thing the peeves of the gaming world changed, It had less to do with having to share a controller with someone who inverts all the setting, but more with some guy in halo teabagging my corpse after destroying me.  I mean of course you have to expect some assholes when entering the online battlefield, but those guys that just sit in game lobbies and yell on their microphones are utterly ridiculous. Personally I don't mind those guys because they just sound so damn stupid that anything they say just sounds hilarious.  
     The majority of these peeves aren't really that bad at all because if you just ignore these, whatever game you are playing is easily playable and they do not ruin it, the worst is what people do that ruin your whole game. Now personally, I love co-op games, I even enjoyed the new Aliens: Colonial Marines just because you can play the whole campaign with up to three other people.  The thing is, in co-op games like that there is always the option to skip the cutscenes and get right into the action, but for me at least, I like to watch the movies and follow the plot. The problem is that the majority of the time for some reasons the other people who are playing online love to just skip the videos and this is just game breaking, I want to see why I'm crash landed on a planet, not just wake up in a destroyed ship. I personally cannot enjoy a game where every scene is just skipped and I have no idea why im there, It completely break immersion and its basically game over man, game over.
     Now  the worst thing in my opinion is the people who join your games and then leave right as its starting or after it starts. Why do they join and specifically wait that long to ruin a game, why not just leave at the beginning, this really sucks as then the game will be started and we would be a person down and have to go back to the lobby to find someone else. This is a huge time waster and happens all the time, for example I play a lot of Fifa and people leaving mid game are a regular occurrence.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.